Life In Germany Update // Outfit: Country & Western





This month we moved to a different part of Karlsruhe, into a little apartment in Oststadt (the east side of the city), where we will reside until the end of June. It's really bizarre that although prior to this I have lived in the relatively small city of Karlsruhe for two months, I have suddenly discovered a whole new side of things. We are in a sweet little flat with white walls, wooden floors and huge windows that open out onto a South facing balcony - perfect for a glass of wine and a spot of reading at the end of a warm day. The street itself is lined with trees and pretty looking traditional buildings and we have not one but THREE (!!) bakeries on our doorstep, aswell as a small square with a church, gorgeous little flower store and cafes with seating that lines the pavements which are bustling from noon until midnight. To top it all off, the city centre is a mere ten minute cycle away through the pretty castle gardens.

After a pretty stressful time looking for a place which had us feeling less and less positive as the days wore on, we are delighted to have found this great little gem. Although we will only live here for two months and wifi is non existant, I am so grateful that we have had this opportunity. So far Germany has offered up so many treasures. I moved here for a number of reasons I have spoken of already but I never anticipated how much I would fall for Karlsruhe and it's charming village-meets-city feel. 


SHOP THE LOOK -

Shirt - Gap Mens (Similar), Jeans - Gap (Similar for only £25!), Boots - H&M (Similar), Neck Scarf - Primark (Similar), Personalised Silver Bracelet* - Petit Tresors, Salcombe Watch Face* with Rose Gold Mesh Strap* - Shore Projects, Gold Arrow Bracelet - Stella & Dot, Star Ear Cuff - New Look (Similar)


We shot these pictures in a little cobblestoned courtyard area dotted with shutters and window boxes about a five minute cycle from us which we discovered as we were walking into town one day when I insisted we take the longer, prettier route. This is something that I think drives Paul mad as it is a daily occurance. In the courtyard there's also a great English pub/American burger joint funky combo called Oxfords where you can get a pretty great burger for less than four euros. 




In about two months time Paul will hopefully have finished his degree which means things are a little up in the air at the moment. We are definitely going back to the UK for the whole of August to spend the summer with my family, then we are hoping to do a spot of holidaying further afield. Beyond that? Things are a little uncertain.
I love Germany and I would be happy to stay until February meaning I will have been here a whole year but ultimately the UK is home and I'm happy to go where the wind takes us - something I certainly wouldn't have said 6 months ago! 




Whatever happens I will be sure to take the blog with me on the journey and continue documenting it,

Ella x
SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

© Ella Olivia

This site uses cookies from Google to deliver its services - Click here for information.

Blogger Template Created by pipdig